Six Impossible Things

“Alice laughed: “There’s no use trying,” she said; “one can’t believe impossible things.”
“I daresay you haven’t had much practice,” said the Queen. “When I was younger, I always did it for half an hour a day. Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”
~Alice in Wonderland

Last weekend, the hub and I went to see Alice in Wonderland. While I liked it well enough, it left HIM inspired enough to do a series of blog posts, http://jubileesdad.blogspot.com, about 6 impossible things he believes before breakfast. I love reading his odd ramblings. They’re like a delicious dessert for my imagination and now, I’m inspired. And so I present to you, dear reader, my own six impossible things and, although not nearly as poetic, mysterious, or haunting as his, I do hope they’ll leave a sweet taste in YOUR imagination.

Six Impossible Things I Believed Before Breakfast

1. With a great deal of concentration and a conscious lack of visual focus, I can make cottage cheese ceilings dance to the music inside my head.

2. I once believed that with one magic breath, I inhaled all of the colors on the television, resulting in my watching  an old black and white cartoon.

3. I remember the ding of a bell and the flash of a light bulb going on above my head when I first realized that my parents did not actually grow up in black and white.

4. Santa Claus really did ring bells from the rooftop of my house!

5. God communicates with me through nature and animals, like the time I was hopelessly lost and an owl showed me the way. Thanks owl. I am forever indebted to you.

6. I believe that musician on stage truly was looking at me, playing just for my benefit, and went to sleep that night pondering the beauty of that mysterious girl in the audience.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Six Impossible Things

  1. Gina

    I have lived #6 over and over again, it’s as magical and delicious as it looks when typed and sounds when spoken.

Leave a Reply

