Self Love (It’s Not What You Think!)

This week, at a friend’s recommendation, I did something I don’t normally do. I watched Oprah. Her guest was  Geneen Roth, author of “Women Food & God.”  As Ms. Roth spoke, a woman in the audience began crying because recently her seven year-old daughter told her she wanted to change her pants before school since the ones she was wearing made her legs look fat. Then I was the one crying. In seven short years this woman’s unhappiness with her own body became her daughter’s. This really got to me. What have I inadvertently been teaching my kiddo? I began thinking about all of the things that used to bring me  joy that I don’t do anymore now that my new job title is Mom Extraordinaire.  Have I been teaching her that she must forgo her own happiness for the sake of others? Or that her body isn’t a wonderland? That she’s got bad hair? Aaacckk! I realized that the greatest gift I can give Jubilee and the greatest lesson I can teach her is self love. One of the most important rules of lifeguarding is that you must save yourself first because you’re not going to be able to help anyone if you’re not alive to do it. In an effort to be the best parent to my kiddo, I’m going to try to set a good example for her by practicing a little self love everyday. And so here’s only the beginning of a list of  things that bring me joy that I’ve neglected to do since becoming a Momma. I challenge you, dear reader, to make one of your own.

make art
cook nutritious, delicious, pretty meals
swim
take walks
ride a bike
dance
play games
wear makeup
take pride in my appearance (because I am NOT invisible!)
write and send letters
blog
bask in sunlight
travel
see live shows, plays, & performances
attend a crafty workshop
see movies I want to see, by myself if need be
treasure hunting at thrift stores
read novels
sew
bake
bowl
go miniature golfing
pet my cats
clean & organize the house (I swear it brings me joy once I get going)
get close to and appreciate nature
savor every morsel of food I put into my mouth
take a short lake cruise
take a road trip
organize and display my photos
be as kind to myself as I would be to a kid

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Self Love (It’s Not What You Think!)

  1. The Hubby

    I think this is a great idea!

Leave a Reply

